Rushing to die

https://candidnadi.wordpress.com

DSCN4586‘Stella Morris, is that you? Oh my gawd, how long has it been? Decades, my gawd you haven’t changed a bit.’ The voice shrilled out in the clear morning air.

Stella turned around and could barely hide her shock at the sight of the woman waddling toward her. ‘Josey, wow, Josey Grant. You….grew.’

‘Yeah, life is for living, that’s always been my motto’, Josey chuckled. ‘None of that silly dieting business for me. My gawd’

‘Hmm, I can see that.’ Stella laughed.

‘And I see you haven’t lost your sense of humour. So where you off to girlfriend?’ said Josey.

‘To Suva, for a job interview. I’m actually rushing right now to catch one of those minivans”

‘But surely you have some time for a coffee. My gawd, I haven’t seen you for eons. We have a lot to catch up on’

‘I don’t think so….I mean I don’t think I have the time right now.’

‘When is your job interview?’

‘It’s tomorrow, but you know how it is…’

‘Yeah, I know how it is. But gawd, listen whatever you do, don’t go in a minivan.’

‘I am going in a minivan. More time for shopping in Suva,’ trilled Stella.

‘Stella, my gawd, haven’t you heard the news lately? Haven’t you seen the reports on those recent accidents?

‘Josey, relax; just because a few minivans got into an accident doesn’t mean they’re all dangerous.’

‘But Stella….’

‘Sorry Josey, I really have to go. See you around, okay?’

‘Stella, gawd..’ But Stella was already gone.

A few days later.

‘Josey, my goodness, I’m so glad I caught you’, panted Susan Kant.

‘Hi Sue, my gawd, slow down and breathe girlfriend. What’s up?’

‘Do you remember Stella, Stella Morris from high school?’

‘My gawd, course I do. I just met her a few days ago in town.’

‘What? You met her? Oh my goodness.’

‘Sue, what is it, my gawd, you look like you’ve seen a ghost.’

‘Josey, she died. She was in an accident outside Suva’

‘Oh my gawd, I just met her on Thursday. She was rushing to catch a minivan to Suva’

‘Thursday? That’s when it happened. She died instantly’

‘Gawd, I told her. I told her not to go in a minivan.’

The end.  


In response to Writing 101: Day Twelve: Dark Clouds on the (Virtual) Horizon. Today’s Prompt: Write a post inspired by a real-world conversation.

Today’s twist: include an element of foreshadowing in the beginning of your post.

 

Express your feelings here (just be polite, thoughtful and respectful)

