3 Sure-Fire Ways to Get Your (Writing/Blogging) Groove Back

http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/

So. I signed up for the three big ones this November: NaBloPoMo, NaNoWriMo and Blogging 101.

Well, I thought I was doing very well in all three until I actually thought to stop and check my progress last Saturday, November 08. What did I find?

Let me begin with what I didn’t find.

 NaBloPoMo

Instead of the eight post I was expecting, there were only 5!

You see, I started NaBloPoMo trying to follow the North America time zone – don’t ask me which one – because I thought that it would be great to actually write or post along with the time zone where NaBloPoMo is based.

I wrote. I posted. Then I must have got mixed up somewhere during the week – not helped by a hectic work load, life in general getting in the way, my nephews helpfully hindering – I think because my blog time zone was set to my local time but I was thinking in NaBloPoMo home time, I ended up with three less posts and I even posted twice in one day. Mixed up yet? Now, you know how I feel. Panic.

NaNoWriMo

What didn’t I find? How about a story? How about an idea of – even a glimmer of-a tinkling of-a gossamer thread – of a story? Panic.

How was I supposed to know that you’re supposed to already have a story idea before you even start NaNoWriMo? This was my first time.

 Blogging 101

I see that all my November posts are tagged with blogging 101. I cannot recall how they got there. Panic.

I racked my brain all day Saturday trying to come up with an idea of how to put things right; how to get up the right number of blog posts; how to get to my target word count on my novel. More panicking.

But somehow, all that negativity helped reinforced in me the steps I needed to take and follow so I can hold on and continue, to not give up.

Here’s what worked for me:

  1. Take a deep, deep breathe.

Closing your eyes and really breathing in from your diaphragm and letting the air really fill out your lungs so that your stomach sticks out; let it all out through your mouth with a big whoosh. That’s the kind of breathing that clears your mind and calms you right down. It worked for me.

  1. Start (or continue) from where you are.

Simply start. Write a word, then a few words, then a sentence, then a paragraph. That’s how I managed to rack up more than 1500 words on my novel. Sure, it’s still below the daily minimum requirement and the world-weary hard-boiled detective I started out with has morphed into a gentle and caring amateur sleuth, but it is my novel. 1500+ words more than I had when I started, and best of all, I am actually writing my novel. Something I couldn’t say of myself a few short weeks ago.

  1. Remember who and why. Who you are doing this for and why – remembering that I was doing this for me because I wanted to improve my understanding and use of the English language, helped to really get my head back into the right space and carry on writing and blogging.

I hope they work for you as they did for me.

 

One thought on “3 Sure-Fire Ways to Get Your (Writing/Blogging) Groove Back

Express your feelings here (just be polite, thoughtful and respectful)

